Skip to content

Quality Assurance in Sport - Trust

Important message

COVID-19 update: please visit our home page for updates on our services during the coronavirus pandemic 


Quality Assurance in Sport

ERCL Club Accreditation Scheme

Many sports have their own accreditation schemes such as the Scottish FA's Quality Mark scheme but not all do.  ERCL's scheme helps to compare clubs across different sports in terms of being safe, child friendly and well organised with links to local schools and other clubs.  There are three levels to the scheme:

  • Bronze:  Club has policies to ensure safety of children by checking coaches have appropriate training and qualifications, safety checks are carried out, emergency procedures are in place and clubs have suitable insurance.  These clubs are run by committees who embrace the principles of Positive Coaching Scotland (PCS) and welcome everyone to their club.
  • Silver:  Club meets Bronze Award requirements and also makes sessions more fun and rewarding for children.  Clubs do this by planning sessions that offer different challenges each week and may offer awards to recognise achievement.  All coaches are trained in PCS and disability awareness.
  • Gold: Club meets both Bronze and Silver criteria plus the club links with local schools, Community Sport Hub and other partners to improve opportunities for children, adults and volunteers.  Parents are included in PCS workshops to help them support their children and are encouraged to get involved with running community events run by the club.  The club has long term plans in place which will help continual improvement to match the needs of the local community.

For more information or to register a club for the ERCL Club Accreditation Scheme, please contact Julia Walker. 

Send Feedback

Was this page helpful?

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)