Skip to content

Awards for real sporting heroes - Trust

Important message

COVID-19 update: please visit our home page for updates on our services during the coronavirus pandemic 


Awards for real sporting heroes

The hard work and dedication of coaching staff and volunteers is recognised at annual awards ceremony

Awards Night winners Displays a larger version of this image in a new browser windowUnsung sporting heroes have been presented with awards at a special ceremony celebrating the hard work and dedication of volunteers, coaches and club organisers. They were honoured at the annual East Renfrewshire Culture and Leisure Trust's Coaching, Officiating and Volunteering Awards.

The awards were presented by East Renfrewshire Councillor and Trust depute chairperson, Mary Montague and special guest for the evening, Colin Gregor - a former captain of Scotland's Rugby 7s team and the first Scot to score more than 1000 points in the IRB Sevens World Series.

Anthony McReavy, Chief Executive of the Trust - the organisation that runs sports, leisure and cultural services in the area - said:

"We are providing the people of East Renfrewshire with many first-class sports facilities and services. But the real sporting heroes out there are our staff and volunteers who dedicate countless hours to bring people of all ages into sport and leisure activities and encourage them to reach their full potential. It's only right that we should pay tribute to their efforts and say a huge 'thank you' to them on behalf of the public."

The award winners were -
Volunteer of the Year - Mark Thomson, from St Cadoc's Youth Club in Newton Mearns
Community Coach of the Year - Anna Beattie, from the Allstars Netball Club
Young Volunteer of the Year - Tom Proctor, from the Netherlee Choose-day Club
Young Coach of the Year - Grace Caldwell, a community sports coach with the Trust
Young Person's Coach of the Year - Alan Miller, a sports coach with the Trust's Community Sports Team
Performance Development Coach of the Year - Dudley Walker, from Giffnock North Athletics Club
Technical Official of the Year -  Andrew McMillan, school football referee
Disability Coach of the Year - Andrea Cassells, a swimming coach with the Trust

Photograph shows East Renfrewshire's sporting heroes:  from left Andrew McMillan, Anna Beattie, Dudley
Walker, Alan Miller, Councillor Mary Montague, rugby internationalist, Colin Gregor, Grace Caldwell, Mark Thomson, Andrea Cassells and Tom Proctor.

Created 20 January 2016

Send Feedback

Was this page helpful?

(Include if you would like a response to your feedback)